Vulfpeck Members Cover Stevie Wonder As The Fearless Flyers In New Music Video

first_imgBack in March, Vulf Records released a six-track EP under a new moniker The Fearless Flyers. The new band—comprised of Vulfpeck bassist Joe Dart, guitarist Cory Wong, drummer Nate Smith, and Snarky Puppy guitarist Mark Lettieri—have released four music video-supported tracks from the self-titled EP so far, with the rest of the tracks available for purchase/download here.In addition to the previously released “Aces of Aces”, “Under the Sea / Flyers Drive”, and “Barbara“, Vulf Records has shared the music video for their sped-up, jammed-out, funkified rendition of Stevie Wonder’s “Signed, Sealed, Delivered”, featuring guitarist Blake Mills and gospel performer Sandra Crouch.Watch “The Seal Team 6 of funk” take on “Signed, Sealed, Delivered” with special guests below:[Video: Vulf]The new-ish project—which is produced, composed, and mixed by the “Vulfmon” himself, Jack Stratton (bandleader/multi-instrumentalist of Vulfpeck)—is seemingly a “2.0” version of the original Vulfpeck lineup. Basically, any musical group under the Vulf Records establishment will resonate with fans of Vulfpeck, as the brain and tools behind the music will all come from the same place. The Vulf Compressor, indeed, continues its legacy.The full record is available on Bandcamp and features all sorts of musical nuggets. “Introducing the Fearless Flyers” showcases the tight musicianship between the four players, providing the style of playing that fans of Vulfpeck crave from the band’s earlier days. A secondary version of “Barbara” also appears on the record, featuring Sandra Crouch again on the tambourine, as a follow-up to Vulfpeck’s 2012 Vollmich version of the song. There’s also a “kids” version of The Little Mermaid‘s “Under The Sea”.The six-track presentation closes with “Bicentennial”, a clear continuation of the closing groove from Vulfpeck’s “Grandma” track from Mr. Finish Line. Vulfpeck’s soulful original version of the song features Antwaun Stanley on vocals, David T. Walker on guitar, and James Gadson on drums and closes with a 45-second groove that left fans wanting more in 2017. The Fearless Flyers’ “Bicentennial” is the extension of that groove and it features Tedeschi Trucks Band’s Elizabeth Lea on trombone and the voice of Jack Stratton as the “sibilant announcer.”You can own a copy of The Fearless Flyers today for $6, if you didn’t already reserve a copy of the vinyl, here.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *